Men’s Swimming & Diving Heads to NESCAC Championships at Wesleyan This Weekend

Ben Lin '17
Ben Lin '17



WILLIAMSTOWN, MA – The Williams College men's swimming and diving team heads to Middletown, Conn., and the campus of Wesleyan University, this weekend in pursuit of its 15th consecutive NESCAC Championship.

The Ephs have won 15 of the 16 NESCAC Championships to date with only 2002 title won by Middlebury escaping their grasp.

This winter the Ephs posted a record of 8-2 with losses coming at the hands of Boston College and MIT.

"I believe this will be our toughest test at NESCACs in the past several years," said Eph head coach Steve Kuster. "We'll need to be better than we've been all year and we'll need contributions from every member of the team. We can't wait for the other guy to get it done."

Competition will get underway each day with preliminary heats at 10 a.m. Finals will begin at 6 p.m. on Friday, 5:50 p.m. on Saturday and 5:30 p.m. on Sunday. Tickets are $8 per session for adults and $3 per session for children and students. Doors will open one hour prior to the preliminaries and finals.

The Ephs won the 2016 NESCAC Championship by tallying a team score of 1,789.5 points. Tufts (1,410.5) finished as the runner-up and was followed by Connecticut College (1,407) in third place. Amherst (1,315) and Bates (956) rounded out the top five teams. Bowdoin placed sixth (834.5) ahead of Middlebury (801.5) and Wesleyan (484). Hamilton (437), Trinity (422) and Colby (366) rounded out the standings.

The Ephs return two multiple event winners from last year in senior Ben Lin and junior Timothy Kostolansky. Lin won the 50 and 100 backstroke events a year ago and was the 200 backstroke winner in 2015, while Kostolansky claimed the 50 fly and the 200 Individual Medley.

The Ephs have recorded the fastest time in seven races in NESCAC in 2016-17.

Ben Lin owns the fastest time in three events: 50 backstroke (22.41), 100 back (48.87) and 100 fly (49.55).

First year Andrew Trunsky owns two fastest times: 1,000 free (9:44.41) and the 1,650 free (16:15.27).

Timothy Kostolansky owns the fastest time in the 50 fly (23.13) and the 200 fly (1:49.06). First year

Alex Bank notched the fastest time in the 200 breaststroke finishing in 2:04.79.