The NCAA is located in Indianapolis, IN
and is the nation's foremost collegiate
athletic association, offering championship
competitions to some 1,000-member
institutions in three divisions for men and women.
















NCAA Division III web site

The college experience is a time of learning and growth – a chance to follow passions and develop potential. For student-athletes in Division III, all of this happens most importantly in the classroom and through earning an academic degree. The Division III experience provides for passionate participation in a competitive athletic environment, where student-athletes push themselves to excellence and build upon their academic success with new challenges and life skills. And student-athletes are encouraged to pursue the full spectrum of opportunities available during their time in college. In this way, Division III provides an integrated environment for student-athletes to take responsibility for their own paths, follow their passions and find their potential through a comprehensive educational experience.

Over 15,000 men and women compete in NCAA-sponsored championship events each year.

NESCAC first permitted NCAA team participation in the 1993-94 academic year
Williams and NESCAC did not allow NCAA postseason team championship competitions until the 1993-94 academic year, when a three year-trial period was introduced.

However, Williams won the 1982 and 1983 women's swimming & diving titles by qualifying enough athletes on an individual basis to out score all of the other teams entered.

Prior to the 1993-94 academic year only Eph individual athletes could participate in NCAA post-season chamionships.

Williams has hosted seven NCAA Championship Finals on campus since 1993:
1993 -- Men's Soccer
1994 -- Men's Swimming & Diving
1995 -- Women's Swimming & Diving
1995 -- Men's Soccer
1998 -- Men's Tennis
1999 -- Men's Golf
1999 -- Women's Soccer

Williams has won more NCAA Division III Championships in more sports (11) than any other school.

Willaims won the first NCAA Division III Championship offered in women's swimming and diving (1982) and women's rowing (2002).

Williams was the first NCAA Division III women's tennis team to repeat as NCAA champions (2001 & 2002) and they repeated again in 2008 & 2009. Winning again in 2010 and 2011 tied Williams with Emory for most titles in a row (4) and giving the Ephs the lead in overall titles in women's tennis with 6. In 2013 the Ephs raised their streak of NCAA women's tennis titles to a record six in a row and their leading total of overall NCAA titles to 8.

Though the Eph women;s tennis team streak ended in 2014, they won the 2015 NCAA title and boast the most title won in women's tennis (9).

Williams won the first NCAA DIII Rowing title offered for Women in 2002 in Indianapolis. The Ephs then became the first NCAA women's crew team to win eight NCAA titles in a row -- 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 & 2013. Overall the Eph women rowers have captured nine NCAA titles.

NCAA Post Graduate Scholarships

The Ephs have also won 18 NCAA Post Graduate scholarships since 1965. Men's track & field leads with four. See table below.

NCAA Titles
Most titles won by a Williams coach in one sport = 9 (Alison Swain '01, women's tennis).

Most consecutive titles NCAA won by one Eph team = 8, Women's Crew

Most consecutive titles won by a Williams coach in one sport = 6 (Alison Swain '01, women's tennis).

Most NCAA titles won by one coach = 8 (Alison Swain '01, women's tennis).

Most titles won in one sport = 10 women's tennis (2 by Julie Greenwood '96 and 8 by Alison Swain '01).

NCAA Division III Championships

Williams has won NCAA championships in 11 different sports:

Women's Tennis (10)

Women's Crew (9) -- including first NCAA Championship offered in 2002

Men's Tennis (4)

Women's Cross Country (3)

Women's Soccer (3)

Men's Cross Country (2)

Women's Swimming & Diving (2) -- including first two NCAA championship offered in 1982 & 1983

Men's Basketball (1)

Men's Soccer (1)

Women's Indoor Track & Field (2)

Women's Golf (1) 

Year Sport  Coach
(1) 1982 Women's Swimming & Diving * Carl Samuelson
(2) 1983 Women's Swimming & Diving Carl Samuelson
(3) 1994 Men's Cross Country Peter Farwell '73
(4) 1995 Men's Cross Country Peter Farwell '73
(5) 1995 Men's Soccer Mike Russo
(6) 1999 Men's Tennis Dave Johnson '71
(7) 2001 Men's Tennis Dave Johnson '71
(8) 2001 Women's Tennis Julie Greenwood '96
(9) 2002 Men's Tennis Dave Johnson '71
(10) 2002 Women's Tennis ** Julie Greenwood '96
(11) 2002 Women's Crew * Justin Moore 
(12) 2002  Women's Cross Country Peter Farwell '73
(13) 2003 Men's Basketball Dave Paulsen '86
(14) 2004 Women's Cross Country Peter Farwell '73
(15) 2006 Women's Crew Justin Moore
(16) 2007 Women's Indoor Track & Field Ralph White
(17) 2007 Women's Crew Pat Tynan
(18) 2008 Women's Tennis Alison Swain '01 #
(19) 2008 Women's Crew *** Justin Moore
(20) 2009 Women's Tennis Alison Swain '01
(21) 2009 Women's Crew **** Justin Moore
(22) 2010 Women's Tennis Alison Swain '01
(23)2010  Women's Crew*****  Justin Moore
(24) 2011 Women's Tennis ****** Alison Swain '01
(25) 2011 Women's Crew******* Brad Hemmerly
(26) 2012 Women's TennisAlison Swain '01
(27) 2012 Women's Crew*******  Kate Maloney
(28) 2013 Women's Tennis Alison Swain '01
(29) 2013 Men's Tennis Dan Greenberg '08
(30) 2013 Women's Crew******** Kate Maloney 
(31) 2015 Women's Golf Bill Kangas
(32) 2015 Women's Tennis  Alison Swain '01
(33) 2015 Women's Cross Country Pete Farwell '73
(34) 2015 Women's Soccer Michelyne Pinard
(35) 2017 Women's Tennis Alison Swain '01
(36) 2017 Women's Soccer Michelyne Pinard
(37) 2017 Women's Soccer Michelyne Pinard
(38) 2019 Women's Indoor Track Nate Hoey
  * 1st NCAA Div. III Championship offered  
  ** 1st team to repeat as champions  
  *** 1st team to win three straight NCAA titles  
  **** 1st team to win four straight NCAA titles  
  *****1st team to win five straight NCAA titles  
  ******Ties NCAA Record - 4 in a row  
  *******1st team to win six straight NCAA titles  
  *******1st team to win 7 straight NCAA titles  
  ********1st team to win 8 straight NCAA titles  
  # first Eph to win an NCAA team title as a player and then
coach an Eph team to five consecutive NCAA Championships
  # # first team to win NCAA Div. III women's tennis title
5 years in a row

NCAA Post Graduate Scholarships

E. David Coolidge Basketball
1965  Jerry T. Jones Football 
David C. Rikert  Skiing 
John C. Murray  Football 
Timothy J. Walsh  Basketball 
Ann C. Dannhauer  Cross Country/Track 
1992  Cherie L. Macauley Cross Country/Track
Seth McClennen  Cross Country/Track 
Gregory J. Crowther  Cross Country/Track 
Dennis V. Geronimus  Tennis 
1996 Medley O. Gatewood  Football 
Jeremie J. Perry Cross Country/Track 
Jessica Racusin  Cross Country/Track 
Alana Teutonico  Basketball/Lacrosse 
Laura Brenneman   Soccer/Basketball/Softball 
Patrick Huffer  Soccer 
2007  Tyler Gray  Soccer/Track 
2007  Stephen Spinelli Swimming 
2019 Cordelia Chan Women's Golf