146 Winter Eph Athletes Earn NESCAC All-Academic Honors

146 Winter Eph Athletes Earn NESCAC All-Academic Honors

HADLEY, Mass. – A total of 962 student-athletes have been named to the 2020 NESCAC Winter All-Academic Team. To be honored, an individual must have reached sophomore academic standing, and be in good standing in their sport with a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.50 or equivalent on a 4.0 scale. Transfers must have completed one year of study at the institution.


Of the 962 student-athletes named to the team, 207 were honored for the second time in their career, while 207 were recognized for the third time. In addition, 59 members of the group garnered both All-Academic and All-NESCAC accolades this winter, led by 17 student-athletes from Williams. A total of 39 individuals were named to both the All-Sportsmanship and All-Academic Teams.

Eight individuals were selected to all three squads. That elite group included sophomore Scott Romeyn (men's swimming & diving) of Amherst, senior Nick Ursitti (men's ice hockey) of Hamilton, junior Virginia Schaus (women's squash) and senior Jacob Ellen (men's squash) of Middlebury, and senior Katie Brule (women's basketball) and juniors Gwyneth Maloy (women's swimming & diving), Gabrielle Mercier (women's swimming & diving), and Julia Ward (women's squash) of Williams.

Williams led with 146 athletes being named to the 2019-20 Winter NESCAC All-Academic Team.

Founded in 1971, the New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) consists of 11 liberal arts colleges and has consistently reflected its commitment to the values of athletics and academic achievement. The member colleges of the conference are Amherst College, Bates College, Bowdoin College, Colby College, Connecticut College, Hamilton College, Middlebury College, Trinity College, Tufts University, Wesleyan University, and Williams College.

NOTE: The All-Academic lists were provided by the athletic communications offices at each institution.