11 Eph Men’s Ice Hockey Earn National Academic Honors from the AHCA

11 Eph Men’s Ice Hockey Earn National Academic Honors from the AHCA

WILLIAMSTOWN, MASS. -- The American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) fourth annual "Krampade All American Scholars" honorees for the 2019-20 season have been announced. Eleven members of Bill Kangas' Williams College men's ice hockey team have been recognized.

Due to the effects of Covid-19 on actual grades in the spring, the AHCA adopted revised criteria for this year's honorees. To qualify, a student-athlete must have attained a 3.75 GPA for the fall semester and participated in 40% of their school's games.

The names of 788 Division II-III men and women are being released today and their Division II-III counterparts will be announced in the coming weeks. A small number of waivers to the 40% participation requirement was granted due to injury or for back-up goaltenders. Schools who did not join the AHCA in 2019-20 were not eligible.

"Our players have consistently demonstrated a high level of commitment as students and athletes at Williams," said Kangas. "I am very grateful to be around an incredible group of self-motivated and outstanding young men."


Honored Ephs:

Nicholas Altmann, Sophomore, Forward

Michael A. Carso, First-Year, Forward

Nikolas Karamanis, Sophomore, Forward

Connor Kucharski, Sophomore, Defense

Cosimo Lazzarino, Sophomore, Goalie

Jack McCool, Junior, Defense 

Aaron Pinto, Sophomore, Defense

Evan Ruschil, First-Year, Goalie

Tyler Scott, Junior, Forward 

Nicholas VanBelle, Junior, Forward

Alex Cardonick, First-Year Goalie