Ephs Win 6th ECAC Jostens Institution of the Year Award for Combined Academic & Athletic Excellence

Ephs Win 6th ECAC Jostens Institution of the Year Award for Combined Academic & Athletic Excellence

CENTERVILLE, MA -- The nation’s largest collegiate athletic conference, the Eastern College Athletic Conference, awards the only known annual honor that recognizes combined academic and athletic excellence – the Jostens Institution of the Year Award.

Sixteen times the ECAC has awarded the Jostens Institution of the Year Award to the one of its 300+ member institutions from Maine to North Carolina and west to Illinois, representing NCAA Divisions I, II, and III. ECAC members include the ACC, The A-10, The Big East, and the Ivy League.

Established in 1938, the ECAC, a non-profit service organization, sponsors nearly 100 championships in 37 men's and women's sports and assigns more than 4,400 officials in 12 sports. The ECAC also administers nine affiliate sports organizations and six playing leagues, and through the public relations arm of the conference, more than 2,500 student-athletes in 23 sports are recognized annually.  Finally, the ECAC serves as the primary conference for select members in the sports of men's and women's ice hockey and men's lacrosse.

The Minneapolis-based Jostens is a provider of products, programs and services that help people tell their stories, celebrate important traditions and recognize achievements. Jostens' products include school yearbooks and other memory book products, scholastic products such as class rings and graduation products, and products for athletic champions and their fans.

Only two schools have ever won the Jostens Institution of the Year Award more than once: Williams (6) and Princeton (2). Williams is the only ECAC member to win the Directors' Cup and the Jostens Institution of the Year Award in the same year and the Ephs have done it six times. This is the first time that an institution has won the award in consecutive years.

"Williams is honored to receive again the ECAC's Jostens Institution of the Year Award," President Adam Falk said. "It's a tribute to the many athletes, coaches, administrators, and fans, who together make the Williams athletics program the powerful educational experience that it is."

The Ephs will receive their award on Tuesday, September 28, at the ECAC Honors Banquet presented by Jostens. Presenting the award will be Jim Dougher, Jostens National Sports Manager and long-time supporter of the ECAC. The luncheon will be held at The Resort and Conference Center at Hyannis, Massachusetts during the 2010 ECAC Fall Convention and Trade Show.

A year ago Williams and Duke tied for the award, but even an NCAA Division I title in men’s basketball was not enough to allow the Blue Devils to keep pace with the Ephs in 2009-10.

Williams was almost perfect in ECAC Championships on the year winning four of six events and finishing second in one other. Williams brought home top honors in men’s cross country, women’s crew and men’s and women’s outdoor track & field. The Ephs ECAC men’s cross country championship was their fifth in a row. The Williams men 1V won the ECAC National Invitational Regatta in worceter, MA to claim the program's first national title.

ECAC Jostens Institution of the Year Award Winners:


Williams College
2009 Williams College & Duke University


Stevens Institute of Technology


Brandeis University


New York University


Keene State College


Williams College


Harvard University


University of Maryland


Williams College


Georgetown University


Williams College


Princeton University


Middlebury College


Princeton University


Williams College

The truly remarkable athletic year in 2009-10 by the Ephs was further burnished by establishing a Division III record in the Learfield Directors’ Cup with a record total of 1,292.25 points, 386.5 points ahead of runner-up Amherst (905.75). The Ephs' margin of victory was the largest in the 15 years of the NCAA Division III Directors' Cup competition, eclipsing their previous record margin of 379.5 back in 2002-03.

Williams led all NESCAC schools with 184 Academic All-NESCAC honorees on the year. Senior Corey Watts, a standout in cross country and track & field, won a prestigious Watson fellowship and classmate Blake Schultz was the winner of the national Josten’s Trophy in men’s basketball that is based on basketball ability, scholarship and community service. Further, men’s ice hockey player Zach Miller was the valedictory speaker at the College’s commencement

Grace Baljon secured national recognition when she was selected the Co-Senior Player of the Year by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association. Junior Ryan Malo was named to National Wrestling Coaches Association team representing the USA in Siberia for two weeks in June. Women’s crew coach Justin Moore earned national Coach of the Year honors; women’s tennis coach Alison Swain ‘01 appeared in Sports Illustrated’s “Faces in the Crowd,” and assistant softball and women’s ice hockey coach Joey Lye ’09 was named to the Canadian National Softball Team.

Eight NCAA individual titles were won this past year by Ephs. Women’s swimming & diving contributed six of the individual titles with first year Caroline Wilson and sophomore Logan Todhunter each capturing three. Wilson took top honors in the 500 Freestyle, 1650 Freestyle and the 400 Individual Medley, while Todhunter won the 100 and 200 Butterfly events and the 200 Individual Medley. Todhunter was named The Honda NCAA Division III Women's Swimmer of the Year.

Senior Connor Kamm won the 5,000m run at the Outdoor Men’s NCAA Track & Field Championships, while first year Tanasia Hoffler took top honors in the triple jump at the Outdoor Women’s NCAA Track & Field Championships.

In July Kamm was named the US Track & Field Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) Men’s Outdoor Track & Field Scholar Athlete of the Year. Joining Kamm in receiving academic recognition from the USTFCCCA are Chris Fogler, Richard Fusco, Josephat Koima, Isaac Nicholson, Anthony Raduazo and Corey Watts.

Eph teams combined to win 12 of 26 NESCAC titles, 19 of 24 Little Three titles, 5 of 6 ECAC championships and two NCAA titles. The 2009-10 academic year marked the 25th straight year that the Ephs had won the most Little Three titles.

Winning 12 NESCAC championships this year boosted the Eph all-time total of NESCAC titles to 151, leaving Middlebury second with 55 and Amherst third with 40. The 12 Eph NESCAC championships is one shy of the Eph previous best of 13, which was established in 2002-03, when surprisingly there were only 23 championships to be won that year.

Six Williams teams finished in the top five nationally with women’s crew winning its fifth consecutive NCAA title and women’s tennis extending its NCAA title streak to three. Additionally, eight Eph teams finished the year ranked 6-10 nationally to give Williams an impressive total of 14 teams finishing in the top 10.

Follow the Ephs:

On the Web  * On Twitter: @EphSports * On Facebook:  Williams College Athletics