93 Ephs Named Academic All-NESCAC in the Fall

Combining academic and athletic excellence
Combining academic and athletic excellence

HADLEY, Mass. - - A total of 792 student-athletes have been named to the 2015 NESCAC Fall All-Academic Team by the conference office today. To be honored, an individual must have reached sophomore academic standing and be a varsity letter winner with a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.35. A transfer student must have completed one year of study at the institution.

Of the 792 student-athletes named to the team, 286 were honored for the second time in their career, while 137 were recognized for the third time. In addition, 87 members of the group garnered both All-Academic and All-NESCAC accolades this fall, led by 19 student-athletes from Williams and 16 from Amherst. A total of 55 individuals were named to both the All-Sportsmanship and All-Academic Teams by the conference.

Eight individuals were selected to all three squads. That elite group included sophomore Nate Choukas of Trinity (men's golf), junior Greg Conrad of Middlebury (men's soccer), senior Geoff Danilack of Williams (men's soccer), senior Devyn Gardner of Amherst (women's golf), senior Bayard Geeslin of Hamilton (men's golf/soccer), sophomore Becca Raffel of Middlebury (volleyball), senior Lacey Serletti of Williams (women's cross country) and senior Katie Warshaw of Amherst (volleyball).

The 2015 Fall All-Academic Team includes three NESCAC Players of the Year and a NESCAC Defensive Player of the Year.

Rachel Kennedy became the fourth player in league history to be named NESCAC Field Hockey Player of the Year in back-to-back seasons. The Bowdoin senior led all conference players with 35 goals and 76 points to go along with six assists. Kennedy became the Polar Bears' career leader in points (226) and goals (103) during the season. She scored a goal in 20 of the 22 games she played, and registered at two goals or more in 11 games.

Senior Kim Kahnweiler of Bowdoin was named the NESCAC Defensive Player of the Year in field hockey after serving a key player for the Polar Bears at both ends of the field. She anchored a defense that allowed 16 goals to go along with ten shutouts. Kahnweiler recorded seven points on two goals and three assists, and became just the third Bowdoin field hockey player to earn the award.

Williams sophomore Phoebe Mattana was selected as the inaugural NESCAC Women's Golf Player of the Year. Mattana earned medalist honors at the Wellesley Invitational with a two-round score of 147, tied for first at the Middlebury Invitational with a 36-hole score of 160, and added runner-up finishes at the NYU and Mount Holyoke Invitationals. Nine of her ten rounds this fall were in the 70s, including three even par-72 scores. Her scoring average also led the conference.

Middlebury's Hannah Robinson helped the Panther women's soccer team reach the NESCAC semifinals this season en route to being named the NESCAC Women's Soccer Player of the Year. Robinson tallied eight points on two goals and four assists, as she became the fourth Middlebury women's soccer player to garner Player of the Year accolades.

Founded in 1971, the New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) consists of 11 liberal arts colleges and has consistently reflected its commitment to the values of athletics and academic achievement. The member colleges of the conference are Amherst College, Bates College, Bowdoin College, Colby College, Connecticut College, Hamilton College, Middlebury College, Trinity College, Tufts University, Wesleyan University, and Williams College.

List of honored Ephs.