Joseph Mallock on Watch List for Fred Mitchell Award

Joseph Mallock on Watch List for Fred Mitchell Award

WILLIAMSTOWN, MA -- Eph junior place-kicker Joseph Mallock (West Orange, NJ) is one of two kickers from New England Division III on the watch Fred Mitchell Award Watch List, joining Endicott College junior Dylan Rushe.

The annual Fred Mitchell Outstanding Place-Kicker Award (also known as the Fred Mitchell Award) is provided to the nation's top collegiate place-kicker among more than 750 FCS, Division II, III, NAIA and NJCAA football teams. The Award is named for Fred Mitchell, the record-setting place-kicker, Wittenberg University Athletic Hall of Famer, author, philanthropist and Chicago Tribune sports columnist.

The watch list for the Fred Mitchell Award includes 44 Football Championship Subdivision (FCS), Division II, III, National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) and National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) collegiate place-kickers that were nominated by their colleges for excellence on the football field and in the community. The break down of place-kickers by division: 16 FCS, 11 Division II, 14 Division III, and 3 NJCAA.

Joseph Mallock '14

Mallock finished third on the Eph team in scoring last fall with 32 points coming from making 6 of 10 FGs and 14 of 19 PATs.

Mallock became the Ephs' primary place-kicker in the fourth game of the 2011 eight-game season. Once Mallock was named the Ephs' primary place-kicker he responded in a big way, converting 5 of 6 FGs and 13 of 16 PATs.

"Joe Mallock is a really strong student-athlete and has gotten better every day," noted Eph head coach Aaron Kelton. "We're expecting his continued improvement to show as it did each game last season. I have mentioned to him several times that he is going to have to make a big kick to help win a game as he did that last year against Wesleyan."

Mallock enters the 2012 season having made his last five FGs , which includes the clutch 40-yard game-winner he made with 4:48 to play to lift the Ephs to 19-17 win at rival Wesleyan.

"Joe has all the confidence he needs to have a great season and we are expecting him to be the best kicker in the NESCAC in 2012," Kelton said.

Outside of football Mallock has volunteered with teammates for Habitat for Humanity, cleaned up debris in The Spruces trailer park after Hurricane Irene and served food at the Berkshire Food Project. Additionally, Mallock has served as a note taker on campus for students who are unable to take their own notes and as a contributing writer for the Williams Record, covering the men's golf team. During the summers Mallock serves as a volunteer caddie instructor at a golf club in his hometown.

The 2012 watch list includes place-kickers from 25 states and is comprised of 23 seniors, 14 juniors, and 7 sophomores. The 2012 watch list also includes 22 place-kickers who were finalists for the 2011 Fred Mitchell Award.

The recipient of the Fred Mitchell Award will be chosen based on excellence on the football field and in the community. The Award's Watch List is released in August, top performers are recognized monthly during the college football season, and the winner (who is not required to be on the Watch List) is announced in mid-December. The school of the Award winner receives scholarship funds and the Fred Mitchell Award trophy will be presented each February at the National Football Foundation Chicago Metro Chapter Awards Ceremony at Halas Hall.

A blue-ribbon Selection Committee evaluates place-kickers that are nominated by their schools. Members of the Pro and/or College Football Hall of Fame on the Selection Committee include Tom Beck, Kevin Butler, Paul Hornung, Marv Levy, Steve McMichael, Don Pierson and Gale Sayers. Former football players and others that are active in their communities are also on the Selection Committee including Carl Allegretti, Sean Gothier, Teddy Greenstein, Michael Husted, Dan Jiggetts, Rick Kolaczewski, Connie Kowal, Greg Loberg, Tom Lynch, Carol Monroe, Jeff Michalczyk, Mark Murphy, Rob Perry, Jeff Schebler, Caroline Schrenker, Jay Sebben, Bob Thomas, Wolfe Tone, Todd Wilkins, Gary Zauner and Rob Zvonar. There are 10 former college or NFL place-kickers on the Selection Committee, including Schebler (the inaugural Fred Mitchell Award recipient in 2009 and the highest-scoring place-kicker in NCAA history at any level) and Lynch (two-time Award recipient and the kicker on the 2011 NAIA National Champion Saint Xavier University Cougars).

The Award's Selection Committee Chairman Chris Kearney said, "These place-kickers are terrific on the football field and off the field representing their schools, their football teams, their conferences, their communities, their families and themselves. We look forward to following their accomplishments during the next few months." The watch list includes place-kickers from more than 750 eligible colleges. Fred Mitchell said, "It is a pleasure to include these fine young men on the watch list for this award. We are delighted to recognize them based on outstanding performance in the community and expectations going into the 2012 college football season. It is also a thrill to see so many familiar names on the Watch List, including 22 place-kickers that were finalists for the Award last season."

Ephs Fall at Amherst 23-20
November 10, 2012 Ephs Fall at Amherst 23-20
Wesleyan Game Notes
October 31, 2012 Wesleyan Game Notes
Hamilton Game Notes
October 24, 2012 Hamilton Game Notes
Tufts Game Notes
October 14, 2012 Tufts Game Notes
Middlebury Game Notes
October 7, 2012 Middlebury Game Notes
Bates Game Notes
October 3, 2012 Bates Game Notes
Trinity Game Notes
September 26, 2012 Trinity Game Notes
Colby Game Notes
September 19, 2012 Colby Game Notes
Football Season Outlook
September 17, 2012 Football Season Outlook