NCAA Men's Basketball 1st & 2nd Round Tournament Central

NCAA Men's Basketball 1st & 2nd Round Tournament Central

2018 NCAA Tournament

Men's Basketball First and Second Rounds

Friday, March 2


Saturday, March 3



NCAA Men's Basketball Digital Tournament Program

2018 NCAA Div. III Tournament Bracket


Friday's Schedule

5:30 P.M.

Ramapo 86, Moravian 61


7:30 P.M.

Williams 56, Bridgewater State 45


Saturday's Schedule

7:00 P.M.

Ramapo 66, Williams 62



WILLIAMSTOWN, MA  -- The Williams College men's basketball team will continue its quest for a national championship when it hosts the First and Second Rounds of the 2018 NCAA Div. III Tournament Friday and Saturday in Chandler Gymnasium.

The first game Friday at 5:30 p.m. features New jersey Athletic Conference champion Ramapo University (21-6) vs. Landmark Conference champion Moravian College (20-7). The host Ephs (22-5), 2018 NESCAC champions, will host MASCAC Conference champion Bridgewater State (18-9) in the second game at 7:30 p.m.

Saturday's winners will meet Sunday at 7 p.m. back in Chandler Gymnasium for the right to advance to the sectional round.

Ticket prices are $10 for adults, $5 for students and can be purchased on site beginning at 4:30 p.m. Friday. 

Here's a closer look at the teams:

Williams (22-5): Roster • Schedule • Stats

The Ephs are making their 16th NCAA Tournament appearance and have eight Final Four appearances. Williams has a 46-14 record in NCAA Tournament record. Williams is currently ranked No. 5 in the country and No. 1 in New England. 

Williams won its first NESCAC Tournament title since 2010 last weekend at Amherst, defeating Wesleyan 69-58 in the championship game. Junior forward James Heskett was named the NESCAC Player of the Year earlier this week, he led the conference in scoring with 19.5 points per game. He was fourth in the NESCAC in three-point shooting with a 43.9 percentage. Classmate Bobby Casey, a guard, joined Heskett on the NESCAC First Team. Casey is averaging 15.6 points per game this season. 

Senior Mike Greenman played for the first time in five weeks in the NESCAC semifinal and championship, scoring 14 points in the win over Hamilton and nine in the victory against Wesleyan and was named NESCAC Player of the Week. He averages 8.4 points per game. Senior Cole Teal is fifth on the team with 8 ppg. Sophomore Matt Karpowicz comes off the bench to average 9.5 ppg. and a team-leading 5.5 rebounds per contest. Junior Kyle Scadlock was lost for the season to an injury early in December. The other seniors contributors are Chris Galvin, who starts at guard, and guard Adam Kroot

Bridgewater State (18-9): Roster • Schedule • Stats

Bridgewater is making its 8th appearance in the NCAA Tournament and owns a 3-7 mark in tournament play. The 2008-2009 team advanced to the Sweet Sixteen. The Bears finished 2nd in the MASCAC regular season. Bridgewater St. has two players who have scored over 400 points this season as Rayshon Ward leads the team with 420 points and Rocky DeAndrade has recorded 410 points. Senior Joseph Carty leads the team with 291 rebounds.

Carty, senior DeAndrade and sophomore Ward were named to the 2017-2018 Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference (MASCAC) Men's Basketball All-Conference Team.Carty and DeAndrade each garnered All-MASCAC First Team honors, while Ward will represent the Bears on the All-MASCAC Second Team. Carty is averaging 15.5 points, 12.7 rebounds and 2.4 assists over 23 games in his third and final season with the Bears. He is also shooting 43% (111-256) from the floor and 80% (125-155) at the charity stripe.

DeAndrade ranks second in the MASCAC in scoring and third in both free throw percentage and three-point shooting. He is also tied for fourth in assists, as well as sixth in steals and ninth in field goal percentage. In 104 games over his four seasons at Bridgewater State, DeAndrade has amassed 1,139 points, 304 rebounds, 273 assists, and 133 steals. He is a career 44% (383-872) shooter from the field, 40% (159-399) from the three-point range, and 82% (214-260) at the line.

Ramapo College (21-6): Roster • Schedule • Stats

Ramapo is making its 8th appearance all-time in the NCAA Tournament. The Roadrunners own an 8-8 record in NCAA play to date. The Roadrunners made an appearance in the 1991 Final Four game, the 2003 Elite Eight game and the 2005 Sweet 16.

Last weekend the Ramapo College men's basketball team clinched their second straight New Jersey Athletic Conference title in a 67-59 win over William Paterson in the Bradley Center. With the win, the Roadrunners earned an automatic bid into the 2017-18 NCAA DIII National Tournament. With the victory, Ramapo now has five NJAC titles for their men's basketball program. 

This week senior Josh Ford was named NJAC Defensive Player of the Year. He has helped lead the Roadrunners to back-to-back NJAC Regular Season Titles. Ford has started all 25 games this season and collected 255 points, 9.3 per game while dishing out 68 assists. He's posted 21 steals, 74 rebounds and one blocked shot. Fellow seniors Thomas Bonacum and Christopher Mosely were also named NJAC First Team All-Conference, both their third year receiving post-season honors. Bonacum currently leads the Roadrunners in points, assists and rebounds with 376, 94, and 203 respectively.  

The Ramapo defense has held opponents to 67.6 points per game this season.

Moravian College (20-7): Roster • Schedule • Stats

This is Moravian's third trip to the NCAA Tournament. The Greyhounds are searching for their first NCAA Tournament victory in program history. 

The second seeded Moravian College men's basketball team connected on 7-of-8 free throws in the final 27 seconds to post an 81-78 victory over top seed Juniata College to capture the 2018 Landmark Conference Championship and earn an automatic berth to the 2018 NCAA Division III National Championship Tournament. The win marks the first time in the program's 81-year history that Moravian has hit the 20-win plateau. The conference title is the first in the 11 years of the Landmark Conference for the Hounds, and Moravian's only other conference championship listed in the record books was in 1940.

Juniors Oneil Holder and Jimmy Murray have been named to the 2018 Landmark Conference Men's Basketball All-Conference First Team. Holder and Murray each have recorded 41 steals each to lead the Greyhounds. Holder leads the Greyhounds with 471 points and 212 rebounds. Junior Will Brazukas leads the team in assists with 102.