Eph Rowers Capture 2nd Consecutive ECAC Rowing Trophy and 4th in Last 5 Years

Eph Rowers Capture 2nd Consecutive ECAC Rowing Trophy and 4th in Last 5 Years

DANBURY, CT – The Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) has announced that the Williams College men's and women's crew teams have been awarded the 2015 ECAC Rowing Trophy for NCAA Divisions II-III.

This marks the second consecutive year that the Eph teams have been honored as the winners of the ECAC Rowing Trophy and an impressive fourth time in the last five years.

Peter Wells' men's novice team won the ECAC title, the Varsity 1 boat was fourth, and the Varsity 2 boat finished sixth.

Kate Maloney's novice women captured the ECAC title, the Varsity 1 boat came in second, and the Varsity 2 boat finished fourth.

The combined success of the Eph rowing teams at the ECAC Championships resulted in Williams being awarded the 2015 All Points Trophy.

In addition to their rowing prowess the Eph men earned 15 National Invitational Rowing Championship (NIRC) Stewards All-Academic honors for owning a GPA of 3.35 and above, while the Eph women featured 11 honored rowers.

"It is an honor to receive this award from the ECAC," stated Eph head women's crew coach Kate Maloney, entering her fifth year at Williams. "This is a tremendously competitive league, with great camaraderie, and I am thankful for the opportunity that our student-athletes have to create formative experiences amongst such a talented group of coaches and athletes."

"We are indeed grateful that the ECAC again found us worthy and deserving of this notable award," said Peter Wells '79 who has served as Coordinator of the Williams Crew Program for 34 years. "This past year the team was truly buoyed by our younger crews and especially from both the freshmen women and freshmen men with their exhilarating winning performances on the ECAC weekend."

"There is value to having a top crew win an event in either the men's or women's category," continued Wells. "The desire of the student-athletes to do all they can as a program of eight different crews speaks emphatically again as to what the entire squad of Williams oarswomen, oarsmen and coxswains do to perform at this event and put themselves in the position to be considered for this annual award."

"I'm proud of what our student-athletes commit to do as well as recognize and honor the many other collegiate teams and their student-athletes and what these programs do to make this rowing event so great for everyone at all levels," concluded Wells.

Prior to 2013 the ECAC awarded just one ECAC Rowing Trophy for all three NCAA Divisions and Williams won that trophy in both 2011 and 2012.

Trinity is the only other Division III team to win the ECAC Rowing trophy and the Bantams have won three times. Williams or Trinity has won all seven NCAA Division III teams winning the ECAC Rowing Trophy since it was first awarded in 2002, both members of the New England Small College Athletic Conference.

Overall considering all NCAA Divisions Williams leads in ECAC Rowing Trophy wins with four, followed by Trinity and Brown with three each.

Williams Crew: 2015 ECAC All Points Trophy Winners


The 2015 ECAC Rowing Trophy will be presented at the annual ECAC Honors Luncheon on Sept. 28 in Danbury, Conn.

Previous Winners:


DI -- Northeastern

DII-III -- Williams


DI -- Brown University

DII-III - Trinity College


Williams College


Williams College


Trinity College


Brown University


Brown University


Brown University


Trinity College


Princeton University


Harvard University


Princeton University


Harvard University