Bill Kangas

Bill Kangas

In his 30th season as the head coach of the Ephs in 2019-20, Bill Kangas led his team to win the NESCAC regular season and his 415th career win. 

Kangas was hired in the spring of 1989 to succeed long-time Eph head hockey coach Bill McCormick who retired with 329 wins. Kangas guided the Ephs to their first winning season in 10 years and was named the New England Div. 2/Div. 3 Coach of the Year in 1991. In his 26th season behind the Eph bench, Kangas collected his 330th career victory, becoming the all time winningest hockey coach in Eph history.

Kangas owns Williams records for most wins in a season (19 – 2015-16), longest unbeaten streak (10 – 2003-04) and second longest unbeaten streak (9 – 2005-06). Additionally, Kangas' 2005-06 Eph team, tied the Eph in-season record for most consecutive wins (8) set in 1961-62 under Bill McCormick and 1993-94 also under Kangas.

In 2015-16, Williams finished NESCAC Regular Season in first place. In the 16 years of league standings, it was the first time the Ephs won the regular season title. Also, this same Ephs team earned Williams first-ever NCAA berth. Hosting the NCAA First Round in the Lansing Chapman Rink, Williams beat Salem State, 7-1, advancing to the quarterfinals, before dropping a hard fought 2-1 decision to SUNY-Geneseo.

During the 2017-18 season, Kangas was on sabbatical, and Assistant Coach Mike Monti took over in his absence.

Kangas graduated in 1982 from the University of Vermont with a bachelor of arts in zoology. He also won the Wasson Award as the top men's senior student-athlete at UVM and received a Master's in Education from North Adams State College in 1994.

Bill Kangas
30 years, 415-272-66 (.595)*

*On January 17, 2012 with an 8-2 win over Wentworth IT,
Bill Kangas became just the second coach at Williams to
record 300 wins in men's ice hockey.

Little Three Championships: 15outright and 5 ties
Won: 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1996, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2002, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2013, 2016 & 2020
Ties: 1990, 2007, 2009, 2013, 2015 & 2018

1991 – New England Div. 2/Div. 3 Coach of the Year

1994 – ECAC East Champions

1994 – National Shriner's All-Star Game Coach

2006 – Co-NESCAC Coach of the Year

2006 – Finalist for Div. 3 National Coach of the Year

2016 - NESCAC Regular Season Champions

2016 - NCAA Elite Eight

2016 - NESCAC Coach of the Year

2016 - Finalist for Div. 3 National Coach of the Year

6 – All-Americans