Men's Swimming Heads to Bowdoin for NESCAC Championships Friday - Sunday

Men's Swimming Heads to Bowdoin for NESCAC Championships Friday - Sunday



Live Results


WILLIAMSTOWN, MA -- The Williams College men's swimming and diving team will be in pursuit of its 16th straight conference crown and 17th overall when the 2018 NESCAC Men's Swimming and Diving Championships begin on Friday, February 23, with preliminary heats in the morning followed by championship races in the evening. This year's three-day championship will take place at Greason Pool on the campus of Bowdoin College.

In order for the Ephs to repeat as NESCAC champions they will have to do so without scoring any points in the diving competition as Williams does not have any divers on the team this year.

Competition will get underway each day with preliminary heats at 10 a.m. Finals will begin at 6 p.m. on Friday, 5:50 p.m. on Saturday, and 5:30 p.m. on Sunday. Tickets are $8 per session for adults and $3 per session for children and students. Doors will open 60 minutes prior to the preliminaries and finals. No pre-sale tickets will be available, as all tickets will be sold at the door. 

All six sessions of the championship will be webcast.  

In addition to the webcast the 2018 NESCAC Men's Swimming and Diving Championships may be seen on Roku, Apple TV and Amazon Fire TV --   (search for NESCAC).

The Ephs won the 2017 NESCAC Championship with a team score of 1,671 points. Amherst was the runner-up with 1,402 points and Tufts (1,391) followed in third place.

In five of the 17 individual swimming races the Ephs have the season's best time and the Ephs have one of the top three qualifying times in four of the five relay events.

The Ephs are particularly strong in the longer freestyle races. First year Jamie Lovette owns the fastest time of the season in the 200 (1:41.76) and the 500 (4:39.20) , while sophomore Andrew Trunsky has posted the fastest time in the 1,000 (9:35.74)

First year Jackson Karofsky (4:39.55) and Andrew Trunsky (4:39.77) give the Ephs the top three times in the 500 free. That Eph trio has posted the top three times in the 1,000 freestyle, where Andrew Trunsky (9:35.74) is followed by Jamie Lovette (9:36.25) and Jackson Karofsky (9:45.86). Trunsky won the 2017 1,000 in a time of 9:22.70.

The Ephs hold two of the top three 1,650 freestyle times behind Bowdoin's Daniel Williams (15:58.16). Trnsky is second with a qualifying time of 15:59.93 and third best to date is Jamie Lovette (16:04.58). Trunsky won the 2017 race in a time of 15:44.05.

Eph junior Lucca Delcompare owns the fastest time this season in the 200 butterfly (1:52.44).