Ephs Kick Off NESCAC Championship with Two Pool Records

Ephs Kick Off NESCAC Championship with Two Pool Records


WILLIAMSTOWN, MA – The Williams College men's swim and dive team opened their NESCAC Championship competition tonight with the 800 freestyle relay.

The College's 'B' relay, comprised of Andrew Trunsky '20, Richard Nichol '23, Jack Marquardt '23, and Will Burford '20, was the first swim of the meet for the Ephs. The relay started off with a strong swim for Trunsky, followed by Nichol with the fastest swim of the relay, a 1:39.79. The second half of the relay was equally as strong as the first, with J Marquardt and Burford both going 1:41s to bring the Ephs to a strong finish, winning the 'B' heat. 

Next up was the 'A' relay, with senior Lucca Delcompare leading off, followed by juniors Henry Marquardt, David Pearcy. Delcompare opened up the relay with a quick 1:39.92, giving H Marquardt room to extend their lead. Marquardt's surprisingly high tempo and strong kick propelled him to a split of a 1:39.18, with Pearcy rocketing into the pool after. Pearcy had the second fastest split of the relay with a 1:38.38, his fastest split ever. Anchoring for the Ephs was Jamie Lovette, who brought it home for the Ephs in a 1:36.89, his fast first 50 setting him up for later success. Their final time of 6:34.37 was a pool record for Williams' Samuelson-Muir pool.

The Ephs also chose to time trial the 200 medley relay this evening. The quartet of Nick Whitcomb '22, Liam Sullivan '23, Zeb Hart '22, and Aaron Stanton '22, despite not having anyone to race, went a pool record time of 1:28.75. In backstroke, Whitcomb split 23.0, Sullivan in breast split 24.3, Hart in fly split 22.1, and Stanton in freestyle 19.9. The Ephs will have to swim this event again on Saturday.

On the session, Head Coach Steve Kuster says, "I thought those who swam tonight got us off to a good start. 3 full days left, lots of work left to do, so I hope the boys come out tomorrow morning with something to prove."

The competition resumes tomorrow morning for the next prelims session at 10am. Finals start at 6pm.