20 Ephs Named CSCAA Scholar All-Americans

20 Ephs Named CSCAA Scholar All-Americans

WILLIAMSTOWN, MA — Twenty members of the women's and men's swimmming and diving team at Williams have been named College Swimming & Diving Coaches Association Scholar All-Americans, it was announced recently.

"I feel like there are a lot of team accomplishments to be proud of this year, like most, and the naming of 20 Eph swimmers and divers as Scholar All Americans is certainly one of the biggest," Ephs' head coach Steve Kuster said. "These 20 embody the ideals of being student-athletes and more. The dedication they showed to their studies and sport this year was impressive, Congratulations to them all."

The athletic criteria includes having been named 1st team All-Conference and have participated in their respective national championships (for this season, that includes having qualified for their respective national championship meet); or have been chosen 2nd Team All-Conference (Honorable Mention) and achieved an individual "B" team time standard or competed in their respective NCAA diving qualification meet.Individual Scholar All-America is only awarded in the Spring and presented to college and university swimmers and divers, who have achieved both academic and athletic excellence over the semester/quarter coinciding with their respective national championships.

In order to be selected, student-athletes must have achieved a minimum grade point average of 3.50 or higher. This can be cumulative for an athlete's career or the semester/ quarter that coincides with their respective national championship OR cumulative GPA. In addition, those swimmers or diver must be in good standing with their team and institution throughout the entire season; be nominated by a current CSCAA member or their designee by the entry deadline and h achieved minimum athletic criteria.

Individuals achieving "B" standards as a part of a relay are not eligible. Divers who qualified for, but did not compete at their respective NCAA diving qualification meet are not eligible.

The following Ephs earned the CSCAA Scholar All-American honor for the spring of 2020; 14 women and 6 men. 

Women: Name followed by Major:

Molly Craig Biology
Casey Delano Economics & Statistics
Samantha Kilcoyne Undeclared
Gwyneth Maloy Biology & Psychology
Abigail Matheny Chemistry & Environmental Science
Gabriella Mercier Political Science
Georgia Panitz History & Political Science
Amanda Wager Undeclared
Veronica Wolff Mathematics & Art History
Isabel Bushway (HM) Physics
Katie Orringer (HM) Political Science & Environmental Studies
Anna Peterson (HM) Economics & German
Kerryann Reynolds (HM) Undeclared
Ellie Sherman (HM) Biology & English


Men: Name followed by Major

Lucca Delcompare Economics & Music
Paul Leclerc Chemistry
James Lovette Mathematics & Computer Science
Kobe Tray Undeclared
Nicholas Whitcomb Chemistry & Biology
Clayton Morikawa (HM) Economics