5 Ephs Earn All-NESCAC Men's Tennis Honors; Meyer Player of Year & Greenberg Co-Coach

5 Ephs  Earn All-NESCAC Men's Tennis Honors; Meyer Player of Year & Greenberg Co-Coach

HADLEY, Mass. – The Williams College men's tennis team, champions of NESCAC in 2013, placed five players on the All-NESCAC Team including Player of the Year Trey Meyer (New Orleans, La.). Meyer, a senior, is the second consecutive Eph to earn Player of the Year honors, joining classmate Felix Sun who was honored in 2012.

Meyer's play has paced the Ephs this season. He has posted a 13-7 record at the top of the Ephs' singles ladder heading into the NCAA championship tournament. Meyer was named to the all-conference First Team in both singles and doubles for the second consecutive season and is the only player to have received both recognitions in the last two seasons.

Further, Meyer was also named to the Second Team on both sides in 2011. Meyer this spring has tallied 10 wins, including four straight to close out the season and help lead Williams to its first NESCAC title since 2003. During the fall, Meyer reached the Round of 16 at the USTA/ ITA New England Regional Championship.

Junior Matt Micheli (San Francisco, Calif.) and first year Alex Schidlovsky (Sea Cliff, N.Y.) joined Meyer on the First Team. Micheli posted a 15-6 singles record out of the second position, while Schidlovsky took home the honor on the doubles side after racking up a 19-7 record, including a 15-5 mark in the number one position with Meyer as a partner.

In the fall of 2012 Meyer netted his second consecutive ITA National Small College Division III doubles title when he teamed up with Micheli. In 2011 Meyer and classmate Bryan Chow took home the ITA National Small College Division III doubles title.

Earning Second Team honors this season for the Ephs were Bryan Chow, Felix Sun and Matt Micheli. Chow was named for his singles play while Sun and Micheli received doubles recognition. Sun has earned multiple NESCAC honors in his four years in the Purple Valley, including debuting as the Rookie of the Year in 2010,

Eph fourth year head coach Dan Greenberg '08 and Mike Fried of Wesleyan shared the Coach of the Year honors. Greenberg helped guide the Ephs to their first NESCAC title since 2003, while Fried led the Cardinals to their first appearance in the conference championship since the adoption of the current format in 2006.

See the complete 2013 All-NESCAC Men's Tennis Team by clicking HERE.

Bryan Chow '13 Trey Meyer '13 Matt Micheli '14
Alex Schidlovsky '16 Felix Sun '13 Dan Greenberg '08
Men's Tennis Tops Vassar
April 12, 2013 Men's Tennis Tops Vassar
Men's Tennis Takes Two
March 25, 2013 Men's Tennis Takes Two
Men's Tennis Fall 2012 Outlook
September 14, 2012 Men's Tennis Fall 2012 Outlook