NESCAC Honors For Deepak Indrakanti, Alex Taylor, & Peter Frelinghuysen

NESCAC Honors For Deepak Indrakanti, Alex Taylor, & Peter Frelinghuysen

WILIAMSTOWN, MA – Three players on the 2019 Williams College men's tennis team have been accorded conference honors in voting by the coaches of the member schools

Senior Deepak Indrakanti (Cincinnati, Ohio) was named the winner of the Clarence Chaffee Sportsmanship Award. A captain for the Ephs, he has played at No. 3 and No. 4 this season. Idrakanti lettered all four years for the Ephs. He is the fourth Williams player to be honored with the award, joining Andrew Murray (2004), Dave Murray (2004), and Bryan Monier (2006).

Ephs' number one doubles tandem of first year Peter Frelinghuysen (New York, N.Y.) and junior Alex Taylor (Cincinnati, Ohio) round out the First Team selections, earning the accolade in doubles. Together, they own a record of 13-5 at the No. 1 spot for the Ephs. Taylor was also an All-NESCAC First Team doubles selection in 2018.

"Alex and Peter have consistently played great tennis at the top of our doubles lineup," noted Eph assistant coach Felix Sun. "This a great a honor in such a tough conference. I'm very excited to see them compete at the NCAA tournament this year." 

Frelinghuysen and Taylor will compete later this month in the NCAA DIII Doubles Tournament that follows the NCAA team competition and will be played in Kalamazoo, Michigan.

Deepak Indrakanti and Alex Taylor were high school teammates in Cincinnati at Sycamore High School and both have been featured in Eph Spotlight videos.





Ephs Edge Wesleyan, 5-4
April 14, 2019 Ephs Edge Wesleyan, 5-4
CMS Downs Ephs 6-3
March 26, 2019 CMS Downs Ephs 6-3