Williams won the first NCAA Division III Championship
in 2002.

The Ephs have won 9 NCAA titles in the 12-year
history of the NCAA Division III Championship,
including eight in a row from 2006 to 2013.



In 2012 Williams College became the first team to win the
ECAC Rowing Trophy & the ECAC Jostens Instituion of the Year
Award in the same year: (l. to r.): Fredina Ingold Pres. ECAC Bd.
of Directors, Eph men's assistant Colin Regan, Eph women's
assistant Meg Conan, Eph head women's coach Kate Maloney,
Jim Dougher of Jostens and Eph men's head coach Peter Wells.


2007 NCAA Champions

Rowing was the first women’s sport at Williams, founded in 1972 by the first class of women to attend the college. Professor George Marcus of the political science department, an ex-Columbia University oarsman, started the women’s crew club and served as its coach for several years.

Williams was a founding member of the Eastern Association of Women’s Rowing Colleges in 1974, and competed in the prestigious Sprints League for the first six years of its existence. 

Williams’ women rowers found great success on the international stage in the program’s first decade.  Nancy Storrs ’73 won a silver medal at the World Championships in 1975 as part of the “Red Rose Crew,” the first U.S. women’s national team camp boat, profiled by Daniel Boyne in his book of the same title. 

Storrs became Williams’ first female Olympian when she finished 6th in the Women’s 4+ in the 1976 Games in Montreal.  Sue Tuttle '79 joined Storrs on the 1980 Olympic Team, though the United States’ boycott prevented them from competing.  Tuttle would go on to win a bronze medal in the 4+ at the 1981 World Championships.

The early 1980’s brought hard times for the program, with three coaches in three years from 1982 to 1984.  In 1984, though, Christina “Cruzer” Cruz, a graduate of the University of Wisconsin and a former national team coxswain, took over the program.  Cruz would guide the team for 12 years, helping it to grow in size and achieve varsity status (1988) and regional prominence. Cruz guided the Ephs to the 1994 New England Championship and the Ephs won the title again in 1997 under head coach Robyn Horner.

 2006 NCAA Champions


Williams first appearance in the NCAA Championships came in 1998 when the Ephs qualified a four. Biz Smith, Sarah Thomas, Cynthia Osterling and Jana Comstack along with coxswain Yng-Ru Chen represented the Ephs and finished 5th.

With the arrival of head coach Justin Moore in the summer of 1999 the Eph program expanded its influence from being highly competitive in the region to becoming a nationally competitive program.

In his first season Moore led the Ephs to the New England Championship and All Points Trophy, captured the Avaya Championship and landed an At-Large berth in the NCAA Rowing Championships for Women (all divisions). Moore repeated that effort in 2000 and 2001 and then in 2002 his Ephs won the first NCAA Division III Rowing Championships for Women when they topped the field in Indianapolis, IN. Moore's Ephs also claimed the 2006 NCAA title.

Williams became the first NCAA Division III team to win three NCAA Division III Championships in 2007, under the direction of interim head coach Pat Tynan, who was filling in for Moore who was on sabbatical that year with the Canadian National Teams.

 The first, best team in NCAA Div. III -- 2002 Williams Ephs


The 2008 Ephs added to the rich history of Eph rowing by adding two more firsts -- first school to win three NCAA Division III titles in a row and the first school to win four titles overall in Division III.

Head coach Justin Moore was named the College Rowing Coaches Association Division III Coach of the Year and senior Louisa Berky and junior Allison Prevatt earned All-America honors.

In addition, six Ephs earned National Scholar All-American honors with Elissa Brown and Meg Conan being honored for the second year in a row, while Katherine Quayle, Sam Smith, Katherine Robinson and Kaitlin Kondel were honored for the first time.

Moore guided the Ephs to the NCA title again in 2009 and 2010. In 2011 the Ephs were coached by Interim Head Coach Brad Hemmerly directed the Ephs to the 2011 championship.

Kate Maloney took over the Eph program in the summer of 2011 and she captured the NCAA title in both 2012 and 2013.

2008 Div. III NCAA Champs: 3rd straight & 4th overall, both records


The 2009 Ephs won the New England and NESCAC Championships (ECACs cancelled due to bad weather), became the New England All Points Champions, V1 boat completed season undefeated leading Williams to a fourth consecutive NCAA title. Eph V1 boat won the NCAA Grand Final and the Eph 2V finished fifth in the Grand Final.

Four not being enough the 2010 Ephs extended the Eph NCAA win streak to five. Justin Moore's Ephs were New England, NESCAC and ECAC Champions. The V1 boat completed a second consecutive undefeated spring season. Once again the Eph V1 boat won the NCAA Grand Final and this time the Eph 2V moved up two places and finished third in the Grand Final.

2009 NCAA Champions -- 4 Straight



2010: Extending the record to 5 straight NCAA titles
2011: 6th Straight and Seven Overall NCAA Titles