Meghan Gillis a Finalist for American Hockey Coaches Association DIII Women’s Coach of the Year

Meghan Gillis a Finalist for American Hockey Coaches Association DIII Women’s Coach of the Year

WILLIAMSTOWN, MA – Third-year Williams College women's ice hockey head coach Meghan Gillis is one of 10 finalists for the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) DIII Coach of the Year.

Gillis, who took over a Williams program that had won just four games the year before she arrived molded a team this season with just two seniors that claimed the program's first NESCAC championship. Gillis was voted the 2014 NESCAC Coach of the Year by a vote of the conference coaches. 

The Ephs hosted the NESCAC semifinals and finals this year for the first time in program history. Williams took full advantage of home ice, downing Connecticut College 2-0 and Bowdoin 4-1 to claim their first NESCAC title. Wining the nESCAC title also gave the Ephs an automatic berth in the NCAA Tournament, marking just their second NCAA Tournament appearance.

A first round 4-1 loss in the NCAA Tournament to top-ranked Plattsburgh State left the Ephs with an overall record of 15-10-3. The 15 wins this season is the most since 2003-04 when Williams finished 15-10-0.

Ten coaches who have enjoyed on-ice success in 2013-14 have been named finalists for the AHCA College Division (NCAA Division III) Women's Ice Hockey Coach of the Year Award. The award will be presented during the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) Convention Friday, May 2, in Naples, FL. The finalists include four-time winner Kevin Houle of Plattsburgh (2006, 2007, 2008 and 2013) and three-time recipient Mark Bolding of Norwich (2010, 2011 and 2012).

To be considered a finalist, a coach must either be named Coach of the Year at the conference level or advance to the national championship semifinals. The winner will be announced Thursday evening during the student-athlete banquet at the NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Championship in Plattsburgh, NY.


2013-14 AHCA Women's Ice Hockey

College Division Coach of the Year Finalists

Mark Bolding, Norwich—NCAA Semifinalist*

Joe Cranston, UW-River Falls— NCAA Semifinalist

Meghan Gillis, Williams — NESCAC Coach of the Year

Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh—ECAC West Coach of the Year & NCAA Semifinalist*

Jamie Kivi, Marian—NCHA Tri-Coach of the Year

Kerstin Matthews, Saint Anselm — ECAC East Coach of the Year

Rob Morgan, St. Norbert —NCHA Tri-Coach of the Year

Ann Ninnemann, UW-Stevens Point —WIAC Coach of the Year

Tom Palkowski, St. Thomas — MIAC Coach of the Year and NCAA Semifinalist

Carisa Zaban, Lake Forest—NCHA Tri-Coach of the Year

*Previous Winner