Matt Morris Named NEWA Scholar-Athlete of the Year & More Individual and Team Honors for Eph Wrestling

Matt Morris Named NEWA Scholar-Athlete of the Year & More Individual and Team Honors for Eph Wrestling

WILLIAMSTOWN, MA – Williams College senior wrestling captain Matt Morris (Albany, NY) has been named the New England Wrestling Association (NEWA) Scholar Athlete of the Year.

Morris earned National Wrestling Coaches Association (NWCA) Scholar All-America honors all four years he competed.  A double major at Williams in Statistics and Economics he has made Dean's List every semester. 

Morris has placed in the top four at the NCAA Regional three times.  His career record of 113-41, which puts him 7th on the all-time wins list at Williams and he is only the 12th Williams wrestler to reach 100 wins.  This year he was the Runner-up at the Doug Parker, the Williams Open, and the Citrus Invitational. 

Matt Morris

2017-18 Season Record 25-11

3x Region Place winner (4,4,dnp,4)

4x Scholar All-American

4.0 GPA - Fall 2017

4.0 GPA - Spring 2017

3.73 Cumulative GPA

Dean's List all 4 Years

Team Captain

Double Major Economics & Statistics

Matt Morris This Season:

Doug Parker Runner Up

Williams Open Runner Up

Citrus Invitational Runner up

Matt Morris Career:

4x Doug Parker Place winner 3x Finalist (3,2,2,2)

York Invite Place winner

4x Citrus Place winner (3,2,3,2)

Jim Aguiar Invitational Champion

Williams Open Champion

"In my seven years at Williams, I have not encountered a wrestler who epitomized the term Scholar-Athlete more than Matt," said Eph head coach Scott Honecker. "To be named the top scholar wrestler in all of New England is a deserved accomplishment, as well as a bittersweet one for us as Matt's standard will be a difficult one to meet for future Ephs. It is, however, reassuring to know that others will have his example to follow in the future and that Matt will continue to represent Williams Wrestling in his assured success post-college."

The 2018 Eph wrestling team also earned NEWA honors on the mat. "Ending the season with six wrestlers named to the All-NEWA Team shows how far we came this year," stated Honecker. "I really don't feel like we started the season with six All-NEWA caliber guys. The entire team spent the season with a positive attitude, committed to improvement, and demonstrated a passion for competition. They were tested by a very challenging schedule and remained focused on the process through the ups and downs of the long wrestling season. This team took adversity in stride and week after week we trotted out a better team than the one we had presented the week before. All of this culminated in a fantastic postseason performance and the entire squad demonstrated how much can be gained in a single season." 

2017-18 National Wrestling Coaches All-Academic Team Award

Williams College – 3.651

"We had the highest GPA of any team at the national championships and it shows that our wrestlers are dual-committed to excellence both in the classroom and on the mats," noted Honecker. "With 14 wrestlers represented on the NEWA All-Academic team the young men on our roster continue to prove that they are as competitive with regard to their academics as they are in the hunt for victories in the Williams singlet.

2017-18 National Wrestling Coaches Scholar All-Americans

Yo Akiyama
Matt Morris
Brendon Seyfried

 In order to become an NWCA Scholar All-American, the following criteria must be met:

  1. The wrestler must have a GPA of 3.2 or greater for the previous academic year or have a cumulative GPA of 3.2 or greater. Freshmen are eligible, and their GPA from the fall of 2016 must be above 3.2.
  2. The wrestler must have been at the current school for the entire 2016-2017 school year
  3. The wrestlers must meet at least one of the following wrestling criteria:
    1. NCAA Qualifier with a winning record.
    2. Finish in the top six at the NCAA regional while competing in at least half of the team's scheduled competitions and compiling a winning record.
    3. Win at least 67% of his matches while competing in at least 50% of his team's scheduled competitions.

2017-2018 Academic All-NEWA Team

Yo Akiyama – 165

Luke Anselmi – 174

Nick Anselmi – 165

Bennett Caplin – 174

Dietrich Hartman – 125

Brendon Kiernan – 157

Dylan Millson – 165

Clayton Mizgerd - 141

Matt Morris – 125

Jack Murphy – 149

Alex Pankhurst – 149

Joseph Rossetti – 141

Carl Sangree – 184

Brendon Seyfried – 141 

To make Academic All-NEWA a wrestler must have been a major contributor to the team and have over a 3.2 cumulative GPA. 

2017-2018 All-NEWA First Team

Brendon Seyfried – 149

Honorable Mention All-NEWA Team

125 – Matt Morris

141 – Joseph Rossetti

157 – Jake Savoca

165 – Yo Akiyama

184 – Sebastian Dziadkiewicz 

All-NEWA Rookie Team

141 – Joseph Rossetti