Williams Women Hold On to Second Place After Night Two

Emma Waddell '18
Emma Waddell '18

SHENANDOAH, TX—Williams women's swimming and diving took night two of the NCAA DIII Swimming and Diving Championships by storm, ending the session in second place with a total of 225 points. Night two was no less exciting than the first, with the Ephwomen proving that they are in it for the long stretch.

The session began with the 200-yd freestyle relay, in which the Williams team of Emma Waddell '18, Delaney Smith '18, Olivia Jackson '17, and Lauren Jones '17 placed second with an overall time of 1:32.90. The team was given a great lead off by Waddell, who was the 50-yd freestyle national champion just last night. 

The success continued with the first individual event, the 400-yd individual medley. Megan Pierce '17 once again stole the show, winning by almost three seconds with a lifetime best of 4:15.71. 

WATCH Post-Race Interview With Megan Pierce

Emma Waddell '18 followed in the 100-yd butterfly with another victory for the Ephwomen, and Waddell's second title of the meet, with a time of 53.48.

WATCH Post-Race Interview With Emma Waddell

In the 200-yd freestyle, Lauren Jones kept the momentum going for the Ephs, touching for seventh place with a time of 1:49.90.

Another successful finals session was rounded off for the Williams women with a second place finish in the 400-yd medley relay by the team of Olivia Jackson '17, Caroline White '20, Emma Waddell '18, and Lauren Jones '17 with a time of 3:40.57, just a second behind first place Emory University. 

The Ephwomen are now halfway through the week's competitions, and it does not look like they are anywhere close to backing down. When asked for a comment, Head Coach Steven Kuster noted that he was pleased with the teams' performance thus far: "On the women's side we've seen some pretty gritty swims and some flat out great ones. We're ready to push ourselves these last two days and see what we can do."

The competition will resume at the ISD Conroe Natatorium tomorrow, with prelims beginning at 11 am-EST and finals at 7 pm-EST.