Victoria Kingham, Anna Harleen, Audrey Rustad & Pete Farwell Earn NESCAC Cross COuntry Honors

Victoria Kingham '18
Victoria Kingham '18

HADLEY, MA – The Williams College women;s cross country team won its third consecutive NESCAC title this past weekend in Maine and three Ephs earned All-NESCAC honors.

Senior Victoria Kingham who finished second in the race earned All-NESCAC First Team honors, while classmate Anna Harleen and sophomore Audrey rustad collected Second Team honors.

This Eph trio powered the Ephs to the title by placing in the top 12 finishers in the race. Harleen came in 11th and Rustad was 12th.

"It was a great women's team race with all of our top eight pacing extremely well over the up and down terrain, and putting out great effort over the final mile to improve placings, with final kicks," said Eph head coach Peter Farwell.

"It was a very highly contested team contest with the top four teams finishing so close in score and it was eventually decided by our fourth an fifth finishers seniors Stella Worters and Emily Sundquist. " 

Our top three -- Victoria Kingham, Anna Harleen, and Audrey Rustad -- earned their All-NESCAC honors with tremendous races," added Farwell.  "Big break-throughs came from Emily Harris and Caroline Galo. "

"The senior class has made this team their mission, and have accomplished great things already this season," Farwell stated. "We're looking forward to more culminating team experiences and races in the next three weeks, when 

our runners traditionally reach an even higher peak." 

Victoria Kingham the 2014 Rookie of the Year, earned her fourth All-NESCAC honor with a spot on the First Team this year. Kingham was a First Team honoree in 2015 and garnered a spot on the Second Team in 2014 and 2016.

Anna Harleen collected her third NESCAC honor having earned First Team honors last fall and Second Team laurels in 2015.

Farwell was named the NESCAC Women's Cross Country Coach of the Year for the seventh time in his career.

On December 13 in Phoenix, Arizona Pete Farwell will be inducted into the United States Track and Cross Country Coaches Association Hall of Fame.

See the complete 2017 All-NESCAC Cross Country team here.  

Ephs win NESCAC Championship
October 28, 2017 Ephs win NESCAC Championship